I Can’t Stand My Husband

May 7, 2007 lifeis2good

I had just finished a conference and was standing with a group of people praying for them when a woman walked up to me and said, “Please pray for me, I can’t stand my husband and I hate it when he even comes near me. I hate sleeping with him, he just makes me sick.” This one took me off guard. She was a very well groomed woman and from her accessories appeared well taken care of. I remember thinking what on earth did he do to make her not even want him to come near her. So she went on to explain the dysfunction that was going on in her home and what it boiled down to was cook my food, wash my clothes, clean my house, be sexually available when I want you, here’s the credit card spend to you hearts content and other than that shut up. My prayer for her was that God give her the wisdom to handle the situation and to be able to accept the wisdom that he would speak to her heart. But that moment opened my eyes to another world. This was the first time I had encountered a pampered and pretty, but living in Hell. Most of the time when I had prayed with people, you knew instantly that they were hurting, but this woman was dying but had no appearance of it on the outside. She was cool, collected, intelligent but being destroyed daily by an insensitive husband.

I told the woman that God did not want her to be a doormat and that she would have to gain strenght and confidence that God would provide her the wisdom on what to do. I could feel her relief by finally telling someone her ordeal. She said she did not want to end the relationship but that she just wanted things to get better like they used to be. She was clear to point out that things had not always been that way. I have never forgot that woman and from that point always been more sensitive to people that lived in glass houses.

There are a lot of people living this way and to them I say hang on emotionally. To the ones that have done the damage I say, please examine your life and ask yourself if you are destroying the very gift that has been given you. Marriage is a blessing and a gift from God. He will hold each person accountable for how they have treated their spouse. You should do everything within your power make your spouse a better person every year of your married life. You will both benefit by doing so. It takes so much energy to be selfish and evil and so little to say a kind word or do a good deed. God’s command is for husbands to love their wives as if they were their own body. He also said that YOUR prayers would be hindered for hurting your wife.

Now I know that there are two sides to every story and his might be totally different, but no matter what, you can always find some truth in every side of the story. And it really doesn’t matter whose right or wrong because if one person is unhappy in a relationship there will not be peace. How can two walk together if they are not in agreement. So the goal should be bringing peace into the relationship at all cost instead of pointing the finger. When both people agree to find peace in the relationship the entire situation can be resolved.

If your husband or wife was standing in a prayer line, what would they about your relationship? Would it be, I have a great relationship with my spouse, please pray that the Lord will continue to bless our lives and make it an inspiration to others. Or would it be, I can’t stand my husband, should I leave him, please help me. Today is a good time to begin to make things right if they are wrong, or even better if they are already right.

Linda Leon is a published author and has lots of resources on her About page or you can visit her website at http://www.mvpmedia1.com/lifeinspired/

Entry Filed under: angels,bible,bible studies,bible topics,change,christianity,church,coaching,commentary,culture,daily life,empowerment,faith,family,friends,general study,god,happiness,hope,ideas,in general,inspiration,jesus,life,love,me,ministry,misc,my life,parenting,people,personal,pets,positive thinking,prayer,random,reflections,religion,selah,self help,spiritual struggles,spirituality,thoughts,virtues,worship,writing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. wifeuncared  |  July 31, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Thanks for posting this. I feel the same wasy as the woman you describe. My husnand has put our entire world on my shoulders from finances, familes, kids, home, dinner etc. Plus I work full time to help support his lifestyle. All this and he does the bare minimum to help or take care of me. I have actually begun to hate him. I never thought i would say that but i do. i only stay in our Marriage for our two young kids and pray that God gives me the strenght to carry on. My misery is not worth a broken home for my kids.

  • 2. lifeis2good  |  August 12, 2011 at 3:52 am

    Thanks for writing and I pray that God will give you the direction that you need. His is a master problem solver.

  • 3. lostwomen2012  |  September 10, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    I feel the same as this women i’m in pain i’m hurt lost and confuse. I have been abuse by this man in the past and control for YEARS i have no free will. I can’t even leave the house on my on.Can’t go to church. I’m afraid he will hurt me so i don’t say much any more. I don’t see how he’s a blessing,it feels more like a curse from the devil. I been with him since my teen years and i was so stupid to marry.

    • 4. lifeis2good  |  September 20, 2011 at 2:24 am

      Please see the resources on my About page.  The American Association of Christian Counselors may be able to provide needed assistance.  Indeed sorry to hear about your situation.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

